Wednesday, March 10, 2010

SBA’s 2010 Michigan Small Business Award Winners Are Announced!

DETROIT – The U.S. Small Business Administration has announced the winner of its 2010 Michigan Small Business Person of the Year and its other awards. They will be presented on April 29, 2010 during the sixth annual Michigan Celebrates Small Business awards event at The Lansing Center in Lansing. Governor Jennifer Granholm will be the keynote speaker to recognize the critical importance of small business to the future of Michigan’s economy. For more information and to register to attend this event, which drew 800 people last year, go to

““Michigan’s entrepreneurs and small businesses are becoming increasingly important contributors to our economy,” said Richard Temkin, SBA Michigan District Director. “I am very proud that one of our Michigan award winners has won SBA’s Midwest regional award.”

Charles Reid, Michigan’s Small Business Person of the Year, is in contention for the national award, which will be announced during National Small Business Week, May 22-25.” The award winners for Michigan are:

Michigan Small Business Person of the Year
Charles Reid, President
Charter House Innovations, Holland

Michigan and Midwest Region Young Entrepreneur of the Year
Stewart W. Beal, President
Beal, Inc., Ann Arbor

Michigan Jeffrey Butland Family-Owned Business of the Year
Michael DeWitt, President
Peter James DeWitt, Vice President
Timothy DeWitt, Secretary and Treasurer
Peter Jason DeWitt, Plant Manager
DeWitt Barrels, Inc., Marne

Michigan Financial Services Champion
Derek Edwards, Vice President
Huntington National Bank, Mt. Clemens

Michigan Minority Small Business Champion
William R. Ross, President
Booker T. Washington Business Association, Detroit

Women in Business Champions
Carrie Hensel, Co-Founder and Co-President
Debra Power, Co-Founder and Co-President
Women’s Exchange of Washtenaw, Ann Arbor

Michigan Veteran Small Business Champion
Daniel P. Whisnant, Government Sales Specialist
Stryker Medical, Portage

Michigan Small Business Counselor
James D. Beauchamp, Senior Business Consultant
Michigan Small Business & Technology Development Center, Escanaba

Small Business Journalist of the Year
Lucy Ann Lance, Co-Owner
Lance & Erskine Communications, LLC, Ann Arbor

For more information on the award winners, please contact the SBA Michigan District Office at (313) 226-6075, x225 or e-mail For more information on this event, please go to Media note: Most photos of winners are available from SBA upon request.

No comments:

Post a Comment